top of page

Song Analysis

Dernière mise à jour : 14 nov. 2018


On this post you will be able to read my study on the message and meanings expressed by the song I chose.


 

[Verse 1] I know you know that you messed up I see it in your eyes I know you wanna start over But sorry, can't change time


The singer starts the song by an affirmation addressing to a person, that has"messed up". However she recognizes his/her regrets and his/her wishes to repair their relation by having another chance. Which seems difficult because she claims that the past can't be modified.

Even if she seems quit aggressive in this verse, my music video won't represents this effect.

[Pre-Chorus] It's hard for me to be mad at you I don't wanna be It's hard for me to be mad at you 'Cause there's part of me that loves you still Loves you still Always will, you know


The lyrics become less harsh and state that she is attached to this particular person, so face the difficulty to blame him/her.

Even if the person hurt her, she is still attached and remember the good times. She feels and express a mix of feelings.

[Chorus] I just wanna be your friend again But there's some shit I can't forget I don't think I'm ready yet I just want the bad feelings to end But there's some shit I can't forget I don't think I'm ready yet Hit me up another time Maybe one day I'll change my mind You know that I just wanna be your friend again But there's some shit I can't forget I don't think I'm ready yet I don't think I'm ready yet


The singer claims that the she misses the person but she can't confront him/her yet because of the "bad feelings" that haunt her. But she states the possibility of forgiveness because of her hope to reconnect a healthy relation with this important person.

[Post-Chorus] I don't think I'm ready yet


She is troubled by the mix of contrasted feelings toward this relation.

[Verse 2] Sometimes I just wanna call you But the time is never right Even though I really want to I can't leave it behind


She seems to fight against the bad memories related to the person. She desires to restore a link but she is still disturbed and "not ready yet".

[Pre-Chorus] It's hard for me to be mad at you I don't wanna be It's hard for me to be mad at you 'Cause there's part of me that loves you still Loves you still Always will, you know

This part is the same as before, which accentuate her feelings.



[Chorus] I just wanna be your friend again But there's some shit I can't forget I don't think I'm ready yet I just want the bad feelings to end But there's some shit I can't forget I don't think I'm ready yet Hit me up another time Maybe one day I'll change my mind You know that I just wanna be your friend again But there's some shit I can't forget I don't think I'm ready yet I don't think I'm ready yet

Emphasizing the same things. She has some nostalgia of good times spent with the person, but bad memories still catch up and seems to out weight.

[Bridge] All that I want is to take you back Sorry, my heart doesn't work like that I don't think I'm ready yet All that I want is to take you back Sorry, my heart doesn't work like that I just wanna be your friend again Ooh, I just wanna be your friend again


Again this mixing of two different feelings is expressed. She really wishes to move on and restore the relationship with this person, but the pain caused by him/her is hardly removable.

[Chorus] I just wanna be your friend again Maybe one day I'll change my mind You know that I just wanna be your friend again But there's some shit I can't forget I don't think I'm ready yet I don't think I'm ready yet


She directly tells the person that she wants to see him/her again in order to reestablish their liaison as she still consider the love she feels. But she is not enough prepared to leave behind his/her mistakes.

[Outro] I just wanna be your friend again I don't think I'm ready yet Be your friend I just wanna be your friend again


She ends the song by repeating her profound wishes but still refers to the difficulty it presents for her.


 

Sasha Sloan is actually referring to the relation with her father, as she mentioned it on Twitter as well as represents it on her music video.

I will however represent the impact of a romantic relationship over my protagonist in my visuals, or not directly represent what kind of relations is expressed and let the audience interpret and decide by their own.

I am keeping in mind the main themes the song expresses, which will guide the narrative of my video: regrets, melancholy, sadness, love, confusion, pain, desire.



bottom of page